Robinson Schools

Unit 2 Board Adopts Tax Levy

On Monday, December 16, the Unit 2 Board of Education held a “Truth in Taxation Hearing” and adopted the property tax levy for tax year 2013.  Local property taxes are a significant revenue source for most Illinois school districts.  For Unit 2, property taxes account for nearly 2/3 of anticipated FY2014 revenue. To access property tax revenue, school districts must issue a levy.

The tax levy is submitted on a Certificate of Tax Levy which is approved by the Board of Education and filed with the County Clerk on or before the last Tuesday of each December.  The Certificate of Tax Levy is a document which lists the dollar amount requested in each revenue fund.  The taxes are extended (or paid) to the school district in the following year. The amount of taxes extended (or paid) does not necessarily equal the amount levied (requested) and in fact in Unit 2 the amount extended in the major operating funds is far less than what is levied.

The actual extension (or payment) of taxes is determined by the Equalized Assessed Valuation (EAV) of the school district and the maximum approved tax rates in the school district. EAV, generally speaking, represents 1/3 of the actual market value of property in the district.  The actual EAV is not known at the time the levy is passed in December. Most of the district’s revenue funds have maximum rates so regardless of how much a Board levies, the maximum the Clerk can extend is the dollar amount generated by the EAV times the maximum tax rate.


The bottom line for Unit 2 taxpayers is that if EAV is in the anticipated range, the Unit 2 portion of your property tax bill may increase between 1.3% and 1.5%.  To access the presentation from the board meeting click here

Robinson High School
2000 North Cross Street
Phone: (618) 544-9510
Fax: (618) 544-7921
Principal: Victoria McDonald

Nuttall Middle School
400 West Rustic Street
Phone: (618) 544-8618
Fax: (618) 544-5304
Principal: Craig Beals

Lincoln Grade School
301 East Poplar Street
Phone: (618) 544-3315
Fax: (618) 544-4136
Principal: Kathy Bemont

Washington Elem. School
507 West Condit Street
Phone: (618) 544-2233
Fax: (618) 544-5502
Principal: Jason Stark

Community Unit #2
1301 North Allen Street
Phone: (618) 544-7781
Fax: (618) 544-9284
Superintendent: Josh Quick
Community Unit School District #2 


Don't have an account yet? Register Now!

Sign in to your account