COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 2 CRAWFORD COUNTY ROBINSON, ILLINOIS BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING APRIL 28, 2011

Sine Die and Re-organization Meeting 6:45pm –Public Hearing for Holiday Waiver 7:00pm – Regular Meeting

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

- 1. Dennis Inboden
- 2. Leslie Swaner
- 3. Debbi Lowrance
- 4. Von Meeks
- 5. Larry Keeler
- 6. Bill Ecton
- 7. Amy Stone

ADMINISTRATORS PRESENT:

- 1. Josh Quick, Superintendent
- 2. Jason Stark, WGS Principal
- 3. Kevin McConnell, LGS Principal
- 4. Troy Hickey, RHS Principal
- 5. Janis Loughery, RHS Assistant Principal
- 6. Jamie Rains, Special Services Director

OTHERS ATTENDING:

- 1. Debbie J. Pethtel, School Board Secretary
- 2. Cindy Beard, School Treasurer
- 3. Randy Harrison, News Media
- 4. Chris Forde, WTYE
- 5. Dan Gallion, CUTEA Co-President

ABSENT:

- 1. Sue Catt, NMS Principal
- 2. Craig Beals, NMS Assistant Principal
- 3. Joe Kunzelman

President Inboden called the public hearing to order at 6:45pm for public comments on the holiday waiver proposal. No comments or questions were presented from the audience or board members. At 6:58pm the public hearing was closed.

President Inboden called the April re-organizational meeting to order at 7:00pm with the pledge and roll call. Superintendent Quick recognized a "Years of Service Recognition Plaque" for outgoing Board Member Joe Kunzelman. A motion was made by Meeks and seconded by Keeler to sine die the current school board. Roll call vote: Yeas – Swaner, Keeler, Lowrance, Ecton, Meeks, and Inboden. Nays – none. Motion carried.

Re-Organizational Duties:

Superintendent Quick quoted the oath of office for elected incumbent board members Keeler, Ecton, and Meeks, and new board member Amy Stone. Stone was seated at the board table. Inboden appointed Superintendent Quick as President Pro-tem for election of board officers to serve until 2013. Nominations were opened for board officers. A motion was made by Keeler and seconded by Meeks to nominate Dennis Inboden as School Board President. A motion was made by Meeks and seconded by Keeler to nominate Leslie Swaner as Vice-President of the School Board. A motion was made by Lowrance and seconded by Meeks to appoint Debbie Pethtel as School Board Secretary. A motion was made by Swaner and seconded by Lowrance to appoint Cindy Beard as School Treasurer..

The committee assignments were tabled by President Inboden with the exception of Negotiations Committee members appointed: Von Meeks and Leslie Swaner.

A motion was made by Lowrance and seconded by Meeks to approve the following board meeting dates (3rd Monday of each month unless otherwise noted). Roll call vote: Yeas – Lowrance, Swaner, Stone, Keeler, Ecton, Meeks, and Inboden. Nays – none. Motion carried.

CUSD #2 School Board Meetings (7:00pm) Held at Central Office/206 South Jackson/Robinson, IL Monday July 18, 2011 Monday August 15, 2011 Monday September 19, 2011 Monday October 17, 2011 Monday November 21, 2011 Monday December 19, 2011 Tuesday January 17, 2012 Tuesday February 21, 2012 Monday March 19, 2012 Monday April 16, 2012 Monday May 21, 2012 Monday June 25, 2012

The re-organizational meeting duties are done and the regular board meeting begins at 7:15pm.

CONSENT AGENDA:

A motion was made by Lowrance and seconded by Swaner to approve the following:

- Prior minutes for regular & closed session meeting (March 21)
- Payroll and bills

Roll call vote: Yeas – Keeler, Stone, Meeks, Ecton, Lowrance, Swaner, and Inboden. Nays – none. Motion carried.

COMMENTS FROM CUTEA/PUBLIC:

CUTEA Co-President Dan Gallion had no comments.

RHS Senior Lindsey Watts presented her recent research paper on "Energy Efficiency" to the school board. Watts is a student in Mrs. Oxford's RHS composition and analysis class.

OLD BUSINESS:

A motion was made by Lowrance and seconded by Ecton to approve the revisions to Unit #2 policies and place on the website as follows:

- o 2:140-Communication to & from the School board
- o 3:60-Administrative Responsibility of the Bldg. Principal
- o 4:15-NEW Policy identity protection

- 5:150-Personnel Records
- o 5:200 Terms & Conditions of employment and dismissal
- o 6:150-Home & Hospital instruction
- 8:110-Public suggestions and concerns

Roll call vote: Yeas – Ecton, Swaner, Lowrance, Meeks, Keeler, Stone, and Inboden. Nays – none. Motion carried.

NEW BUSINESS:

Mike Shimer, Zoning Administrator with the City of Robinson was present to request the board to approve a Tax Abatement Resolution for the expansion of the Enterprise Zone. The City entered into an Ordinance to Approve an Intergovernmental Agreement with Crawford County, Illinois for the Expansion of the Robinson Enterprise Zone for 17 acres and tax abatement shall be at the rate of 100 percent of the taxes for a period of five years, beginning with the first year in which the improvements are fully assessed. Such period is limited to the terms of the Robinson Enterprise Zone. A motion was made by Meeks and seconded by Swaner to approve the tax abatement. Roll call vote: Yeas – Stone, Keeler, Swaner, Ecton, Meeks, Lowrance, and Inboden. Nays – none. Motion carried.

After reviewing revisions to school student handbooks, a motion was made by Keeler and seconded by Lowrance to approve Student Handbooks for WES, LGS, NMS, and RHS as well as NMS Athletic Code and RHS Athletic Handbook. Roll call vote: Yeas – Stone, Lowrance, Ecton, Swaner, Keeler, Meeks, and Inboden. Nays – none. Motion carried.

ADMINISTRATOR REPORTS:

Superintendent Quick reported that WES construction schedule is all set and ready to begin on time. He reported the following important dates:

- May 11 WES "Elite" Open House to view updates of various Smart Board programs
- May 16 Regular School Board meeting
- May 17 Employee Recognition Banquet at RHS Cafetorium at 6:00pm
- May 17 RHS Senior Honors
- May 19 NMS 8th Grade Recognition
- May 21 RHS Graduation

PERSONNEL:

The following extensions of contracts were reviewed by the school board. A motion was made by Swaner and seconded by Lowrance to approve as presented for the summer of 2011

- Extension of contracts for Guidance personnel (Dickerson, Cooley, and Whipkey not to exceed 10 days)
- Extension of contracts for Media personnel (Gallagher, Hemrich, and Jenkins not to exceed 5 days)

Roll call vote: Yeas – Ecton, Swaner, Meeks, Stone, Lowrance, and Keeler. Nays – Inboden. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Meeks and seconded by Stone to pay Reggie Truitt the full stipend of \$3,308 for RHS Assistant Baseball Coach. Roll call vote: Yeas – Keeler, Meeks, Ecton, Stone, Lowrance, Swawner and Inboden. Nays – none. Motion carried.

At 8:10pm a motion was made by Keeler and seconded by Meeks to adjourn to closed session to discuss personnel, student discipline, and negotiations. Roll call vote: Yeas – Lowrance, Stone, Ecton, Meeks, Swaner, Keeler, and Inboden. Nay – none. Motion carried.

At 10:30pm a motion was made by Swaner and seconded by Lowrance to return to open session. Roll call vote: Yeas – Swaner, Ecton, Keeler, Stone, Meeks, Lowrance, and Inboden. Nays – none. Motion carried.

At 10:35pm a motion was made by Keeler and seconded by Lowrance to adjourn the regular April board meeting. Roll call vote: Yeas – Meeks, Ecton, Swaner, Lowrance, Keeler, Stone, and Inboden. Nays – none. Motion carried.

The next regular board meeting will be at 7:00pm on Monday May 16th, 2011 at the Central Office.

Dennis Inboden, SCHOOL BOARD PRESIDENT

Debbie Pethtel, SCHOOL BOARD SECRETARY