# COMMUNITY UNIT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 2 CRAWFORD COUNTY ROBINSON, ILLINOIS BOARD OF EDUCATION APRIL 21, 2014 CENTRAL OFFICE

# 7pm – Regular Meeting

#### **BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:**

- 1. Dennis Inboden
- 2. Larry Keeler
- 3. Amy Stone
- 4. Stacey Shew
- 5. Nancy Berty
- 6. Bill Ecton

#### **ABSENT:**

1. Von Meeks

#### **ADMINISTRATORS PRESENT:**

- 1. Josh Quick, Superintendent
- 2. Jason Stark, WES Principal
- 3. Kevin McConnell, LGS Principal
- 4. Craig Beals NMS Assistant Principal
- 5. Troy Hickey RHS Principal

## **OTHERS ATTENDING:**

- 1. Carla Sinclair, School Board Secretary
- 2. Cindy Beard CUSD #2 Treasurer
- 3. Gary Oxford, CUSD#2 Bookkeeper
- 4. Randy Harrison, News Media
- 5. Chris Forde, Media
- 6. Bob Coffman CUTEA Representative

President Inboden called the April Board Meeting to order at 7:00pm. After the pledge and roll call, Inboden welcomed all attending.

### **CONSENT AGENDA**

A motion was made by Ecton and seconded by Berty to approve the consent agenda (including prior minutes for March 17, 2014, closed session minutes for March 17, 2014, Special Meeting – April 1, 2014, Closed Session Meeting – April 1, 2014, Building and Grounds Committee Meeting – March 24, 2014, Policy Committee Meeting – March 28, 2014, April bills payable, treasurer's report, employee attendance report, student attendance report, employments, resignations, and retirements). Roll call vote: Yeas –Keeler, Berty, Stone, Ecton, Shew, and Inboden. Nays – none. Motion carried.

By consent motion, the Board approved the following employments:

- Mike Buchanan Volunteer Bass Fishing
- John Bruner Volunteer Bass Fishing
- Scott Beard Volunteer Bass Fishing
- Rodney Wilson Volunteer Bass Fishing
- Michelle Adams Volunteer NMS Track
- Mike Billingsly Driver Education Teacher
- Tim Nolan Driver Education Teacher
- Jason Hartke Driver Education Teacher
- Gary Kapper Driver Education Teacher
- Les Wilson Driver Education Teacher
- Travis Blank Driver Education Teacher
- Babbie Stewart Flex Bus Driver

By consent motion, the Board approved the following resignations:

- Angie Newlin RHS Lunchroom Supervisor
- Kate Maurer 7<sup>th</sup> Grade Language Arts Teacher NMS
- Amy Hannahs RHS English/Business Teacher

By consent motion, the Board approved the following policy changes:

- 2:100 Board Member Conflict of Interest
- 5:30 Hiring Process and Criteria
- 5: 35 Compliance with the Fair Labor Standards Act
- 5:190 Teacher Qualifications
- 6:65 Student Social and Emotional Development
- 6:160 English Language Learners
- 7:185 Teen Dating Violence Prohibited
- 8:95 Parental Involvement
- 5:30AP2 Investigations
- 5:35AP1 Fair Labor Standards Act Exemptions
- 5:35AP2 Employee Records Required by the Fair Labor Standards
  Act
- 5:35AP3 Compensable Work Time for Non-Exempt Employees Under the FLSA
- 5:35AP4 Fair Labor Standards Act 12-Step Compliance Checklist

By consent motion, the Board approved the contract with DEM Services, Inc. for the abatement of asbestos in the new Administrative Office Building.

By consent motion, the Board approved the abolishment and reestablishment of the Working Cash Fund.

By consent motion, the Board approved the transfer of monies from the Education Fund to the Debt Fund.

By consent motion, the Board approved the 1<sup>st</sup> reading of the following policy changes:

- 2:30 School District Elections
- 2:110 Qualifications, Term, and Duties of Board Officers
- 4:30 Revenue and Investments
- 5:125 Personal Technology and Social Media; Usage and Conduct
- 5:180 Temporary Illness or Temporary Incapacity
- 5:240 Suspension

- 7:70 Attendance and Truancy
- 7:140 Search and Seizure
- 7:180 Preventing Bullying, Intimidation, and Harassment
- 7:190 Student Discipline
- 5:10 Equal Employment Opportunity and Minority Recruitment

## **UNIT #2 DISTRICT UPDATES/ PUBLIC COMMENT:**

No public comment. CUTEA Representative, Bob Coffman, wished to thank the Board for their efforts in resolving the music position for school year 2014/2015.

A motion was made by Keeler and seconded by Stone to approve the Student Handbooks for WES, LGS, NMS, and RHS. Roll call vote: Yeas –Shew, Keeler, Berty, Ecton, Stone, and Inboden. Nays – none. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Stone and seconded by Keeler to approve the RHS Athletic Handbook with the exception of the Spectator Ejection Policy. This policy will be reworded and brought back to the Board at the May 19, 2014 meeting. Roll call vote: Stone, Shew, Keeler, Berty, Ecton, and Inboden. Nays – none. Motion carried.

### **ADMINISTRATOR COMMENTS**

WES Principal Jason Stark reported to the Board about the successful Spring Programs. He wanted to thank Highland Church of Christ for the use of their facility. He also commended Brenda Graham for her 43 years of successful musical programs.

RHS Principal Hickey explained to the Board that RHS was preparing for the PARCC, ACT, and Prairie State Testing. Mr. Hickey thanked the counselors and Technology Staff for all their hard work on this pilot program. The technology upgrades worked very well.

RHS Principal Hickey also introduced Nick Berty to the Board. Nick invited all to attend the CEO Program Trade Show on May 14, 2014 at the Robinson Community Center.

## **SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT**

Superintendent Quick explained to the Board about the fund balances for the remainder of this school year. He said discussion on these accounts will be held in Finance Committee meetings.

A motion was made by Shew and seconded by Berty to enter into closed session. Roll call vote: Yeas –Berty, Ecton, Stone, Shew, Keeler, and Inboden. Nays – none. Motion carried. Regular meeting ended at 7:25pm.

A motion was made by Stone and seconded by Berty to return to open session. Roll call vote: Yeas –Keeler, Stone, Shew, Berty, Ecton, and Inboden. Nays – none. Motion carried. Open meeting resumed at 8:03pm.

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Keeler and seconded by Shew. Roll call vote: Yeas- Keeler, Berty, Stone, Ecton, Shew, and Inboden. Nays – none. Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 8:12pm.

The next regular school board meeting will be held on Monday, May 19, 2014 at 7:00pm at the Central Office.

Dennis Inboden, School Board Presid	