## March Press Release March 21, 2011

The School Board met at the Central Office for their regular meeting on Monday, March 21, 2011.

Booster Club Members Julie Blagrave, Rhonda Kimmel, and Sonya Dirks were at last night's board meeting to present the club's idea for a new concession stand at RHS football field and asked the board to join them in perhaps building new restrooms and sidewalks. The Building & Grounds Board Committee will meet with the Booster Club.

The following action was taken at last night's meeting:

- Approved the SEPCO Intergovernmental Agreement Resolution for the 20011/2012 school year at \$100 annual dues (Cooperative purchasing program concept for school districts to meet federal and state purchasing mandates when purchasing food/cafeteria items).
- Approved renewal of Illinois High School Association membership for the 2011/2012 school year.
- Changed April board meeting date to THURSDAY APRIL 28, 2011. The Board will not meet on Monday, April 18<sup>th</sup> as scheduled.

PERSONNEL:

- Approved Reduction-in-Force for 47 non-certified employees listing as presented and as recommended. Notification & certified letters will be forthcoming
- Approved Reduction-in-Force for 1 certified part time teaching position as recommended. Certified letters will be forthcoming
- Approved resignations from: Faye Tracy-WES B'fast/Lunch Supervisor (effective Friday March 18<sup>th</sup>); Dave Holubek-RHS Assistant football coach; and Deb Whipkey-RHS Golf Head Coach (both effective at the conclusion of the 2010/2011 school year).
- Approved intent-to-retire letters from Donna Langley, RHS English teacher & Speech Coach (effective at the end of the 2014/2015 school year); Karen Laflin, 4<sup>th</sup> grade teacher and Lugene Bond, 4<sup>th</sup> grade teacher (Laflin and Bond effective at the end of the 2015/2016 school year)
- Approved Jerry Brashear as RHS Head Custodian effective April 1, 2011 to replace retiring Gene Wilson
- Approved a Volunteer Boy's Tennis Assistant Coach Patrick Tullock (pending his completion of ASEP training certificate)
- Approved the following RHS Summer Driver's Ed teachers (to be called only as needed):
  - Joshua Benefiel, Craig Utterback, Jason Hartke, Rick Knust, Mike Billingsly, Levi Damron, Tim Nolen, and Les Wilson
- Approved the following after-school tutors for Washington Elementary:
  - Kathy Bemont, Tracy Corn, Laura Gallion, Sue McConnell, Korie Shawver, and Kasey Waldrop
- Upon recommendation by CUSD #2 Hearing Officer McConnell, the board approved an expulsion for NMS student #215179 for the remainder of the 2010/2011 school year with said expulsion of student to be held in abeyance upon successful completion of the Optional Education/Safe School program for the 2010/2011 school year.
- Upon recommendation from CUSD #2 Hearing Officer McConnell, the board approved a bus expulsion for student #100044 for expulsion from the CUSD #2 transportation system for the remainder of the 2010-2011 school year.

ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT: Supt. Quick reported on the upcoming events at CUSD #2:

- March 22 Music In Our Schools Concert at 7:00pm at RHS Gym
- April 16 Prom
- May 17 Employee Recognition Banquet
- May 19 8<sup>th</sup> Grade Recognition Night at 7:00pm
- May 21 RHS Graduation at 7:00pm
- May 23 Last full day of student attendance
- May 24 Teacher's Institute No Student Attendance
- May 25 Report Card Day end of the 2010-2011 school year

Superintendent Quick also gave public compliments and recognition to the following students for their recent achievements:

- Math Team 1<sup>st</sup> in Division 2A Regional; will participate in state finals at UIUC on April 30<sup>th</sup>
- WYSE (Worldwide Youth in Science and Engineering) 2<sup>nd</sup> in Sectional; will participate in state competition in Champaign April 13<sup>th</sup>
- 12 Illinois State Scholars Honored with families at a banquet sponsored by ROE12 the RHS Seniors honored included:
  - o Kelsey Atteberry
  - Emily Jenkins
  - o Lindsey Watts,
  - Cassidy Sowle
  - o Emily Williams
  - o Brendan Thompson
  - o Josh Avery
  - Curtis Baker
  - Sam Buercklin
  - o Deena Condrey
  - Andrew Scott
  - Ellen Wilson
- At last Monday night's Robinson Chamber of Commerce Banquet the *Hometown Youth Pride Award* was given to the RHS Marching Band
- Regional Spelling Bee participants included LGS Sarah Wiseman and NMS Kasey Meeks

The next regular school board meeting is scheduled for THURSDAY – APRIL 28, 2011 at the Central Office, 206 South Jackson, Robinson, IL.